Productivity Do’s and Don’ts

There has always been some difficulty around how to define productivity. I recently came productivity graph to illustrate productivity do's and don'tsacross an interesting post called ‘Uncasting the Spell of Productivity’ by Jessica Lawrence.  She suggests we have gotten away from the original definition of productivity – being as efficient as possible in a set period of time, to – a productive person is one who never stops working. You can tell from that where she is in her life. I suspect a lot of people are there especially in this age of super connectivity. Jessica recommends stripping away anything excessive and unnecessary. That sounds suspiciously like applying a ‘Lean’ methodology to me, casting yourself in the role of the customer and eliminating anything that doesn’t provide you with value. Interesting.

In that same post Jessica offered a link to a short video (1 minute 35 seconds) on ‘lost time’ and how to take advantage of it. The video makes sense but I would suggest you take it one step further and actually plan for the ‘lost time’.  I had a meeting with someone the other day and due to circumstances beyond their control they were late. Because I plan for this kind of thing I had my notebook with me and I did some planning for a course I am giving next month on becoming an entrepreneur. It wasn’t just having the notebook but having the plan of what to do that made the difference.

Are you hindering your employee productivity? I came across this list of 5 Management practices that kill employee productivity and felt it was worth posting here. Some of these things I have talked about before such as ignoring top performers (see What are You Rewarding Employees For?) and ineffective meetings (see Meetings; Good, Bad, or Just a waste of time?) but I encourage you to check out the other 3 to see if you are contributing to the problem. Till next time I will leave you with my definition of Productivity:

Productivity is a measure of how much – work, time, effort, money, or energy – you have to put into something to get the desired outcome. For more tips and tools on how to get more productive please visit Blue Collar Consulting Inc. at http://www.bluecollarconsulting.ca/.

About Janet, doing it better.

I grew up and still reside in Northern Alberta. While I have numerous interests I am passionate about the Peace River region, its innovation, its people, and the creative spirit that envelopes us all.

Posted on January 25, 2012, in employee performance, planning, productivity, productivity tools and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

