Too Much Email?

productivity tips for too much emailIt seems I am visiting old topics today and offering new tools. My email inbox has been getting an increased number of emails lately. When I get a chance I typically go through it and organize the emails in different folders.  I was a bit taken aback when I came across this CBS news article suggesting that process was unproductive. A recent study by IBM researches showed that users that searched for un-filed emails found them in 17 seconds compared to 58 seconds when browsing through folders. It was good the article went on to suggest I might consider a filtering strategy. I use Outlook 2010 and it has the capability of setting up rules which means I can automatically have some emails moved to specific folders so they don’t clutter up my inbox.  This will work for the emails I automatically receive for research purposes. For the rest of the emails I am not sure that a search strategy will work for me so until I find something that does work I will continue to use folders.

I posted my opinion of multitasking on September 1, 2011. At that time I didn’t offer an alternative other than focusing. I recently came across this article on the Business Insider web site. The article suggests the brain performs better if it is performing tasks in sequence rather than multi-tasking.  Authors of the book “Organize Your Mind, Organize Your Life”, Paul Hammerness and Margaret Moore say one way to accomplish this is to try ‘set shifting’ which means consciously and completely shifting your attention from one task to another. I put the book on my reading list so I will let you know if it is worth looking at in a future post.

Now for a touch of the bizarre: Do you lose any productivity on Friday the 13th? The Stress and Management Center and Phobia Institute in Ashville, North Carolina estimates that between $700 million and $800 million are lost every Friday the 13th because of people’s refusal to travel, purchase major items or conduct business. There are usually just two  Friday the 13th’s each year but this year there are 3 starting with January 13th, 2012 and what is really interesting is that they are 13 weeks apart.

Productivity is a measure of how much – work, time, effort, money, or energy – you have to put into something to get the desired outcome. For more tips and tools on how to get more productive please visit Blue Collar Consulting Inc. at http://www.bluecollarconsulting.ca/.

About Janet, doing it better.

I grew up and still reside in Northern Alberta. While I have numerous interests I am passionate about the Peace River region, its innovation, its people, and the creative spirit that envelopes us all.

Posted on January 19, 2012, in Business Productivity, multitasking, organizing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

Leave a Reply

