Tips to be a Master

I recently came across a great article on Open Forum called How To Be A Master Of Productivity: A Small-Business Guide. The article focuses on giving some real tips on how to get better because as they put it ‘Productivity is one of the principal factors in being competitive at anything you do’. While I strongly encourage you to read it I thought I would share a few of the tips that I got out of it.

Are you a list maker? I know I am. I often have a couple of To Do Lists going; one for today and one for the upcoming week. This works well for me unless I get away from what Merlin Mann, the productivity guru, describes as the “anatomy of a to-do”.  If my list contains things that are not actions that I can accomplish in a single sitting that move me towards a goal I get bogged down pretty quickly. Goals do not belong on a to-do list nor do actions that are the responsibility of others. What’s on your list?

I had the pleasure of sitting in on a marketing coaching session with the author of Duct Tape Marketing, John Jantsch. Now there is a busy man! In his article ‘My Secrets For Getting More Done Each Day’ John suggests it’s not only how you spend your energy, but also how you restore it. Exercise, eating well, and even shutting down technology are a couple of John’s tactics.

On this same theme Tony Schwartz from the Energy Project cites research on the science of high performance to make the point that “We’re not meant to operate the way computers do. Human beings are designed to pulse between spending and renewing energy.” Tony reinforces the work in 90 minute cycles for maximum productivity idea that we first talked about in my Value of Focus blog from September. But here is a new twist Tony suggests that sleep is actually the most important, more important than food, as a behavior to get right.

This article was great and I spent most of my morning going from link to link, learning more tips and tools on how to get better at what I do. Now you may think that wasn’t being very productive but it made me happy and that leads me to my final thought. Did you know that if you spend more time focused on being happy, you may actually work harder?

Productivity is a measure of how much – work, time, effort, money, or energy – you have to put into something to get the desired outcome. For more tips and tools on how to get more productive please visit Blue Collar Consulting Inc. at http://www.bluecollarconsulting.ca/.

About Janet, doing it better.

I grew up and still reside in Northern Alberta. While I have numerous interests I am passionate about the Peace River region, its innovation, its people, and the creative spirit that envelopes us all.

Posted on November 30, 2011, in Business Productivity, productivity, productivity tools and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

